Posted by: Tricia | November 18, 2007

Feeling Blessed

It’s hard to believe that it was just last year that David and I experienced such great sorrow over the loss of his dad after a hard-fought 10 week battle with cancer. During the time that Don was sick God’s mercies were evident all around us. He gave us a joy that is inexplicable to our world. He placed people in our lives that spoke words of wisdom and offered a helping hand in our time of need. We were sorrowful, but joyful, and blessed. The day after Don died we learned that our precious baby, our first child, had also passed away. I often wonder who got to meet Jesus first, Don or baby #1. We were devastated. How could this have happened? Why would God allow two really bad things to happen to us two days in a row? What were we supposed to do now? I admit that I was angry with God. I had had enough. But, he didn’t turn from me in disappointment. He didn’t give up on me because I had rejected him. He stayed right there beside me and continued to show me just how gracious, merciful, and wise he is. God taught me so much about myself and about himself during those hard times. How could such an awful time in my life yield so many sweet memories?

Since then so much has happened. Just 7 months after we lost our first baby, we learned that we were expecting again. We held our breath, prayed, and tip-toed our way through the scary first few months. And then, “Ahhh”, we took a deep breath and began to believe that we were really going to be parents this time around. What a beautiful sound our baby’s heart made. Lub-dub. Lub-dub. Lub-dub. 6 months later we welcomed Elliott Keene into the world and he was (and is) incredible! David and I love to relive the moment that Elliott was born and explore the details we remember. I pray that I will never forget the way I felt at that moment.

Yesterday, as I thumbed through Elliott’s wardrobe to find something for him to wear I came across a sweet little romper with cows on it. As I dressed him and talked to him Elliott smiled and cooed at me like he usually does during this time. “One arm in, two arms in. Snap. Snap. Snap the legs. Stand up, Elliott, and look at yourself in the mirror. What a big boy you are!” My eyes welled up with tears as I watched him smiling there at me in the mirror. This was the first thing I bought for baby #1 just last year. And, now, here is my precious baby boy, living, breathing, alive, smiling at me with those great big blue eyes. Thank you God. Thank you for Elliott. I am feeling blessed, and I am blessed. Make me not forget.

Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him! Oh, fear the Lord, you his saints, for those who fear him have no lack! The young lions suffer want and hunger, but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing. Psalm 34:8-10

elliottcow.jpg

Responses

  1. Tricia – I am in tears here reading this beautiful post that is so heartfelt. I remember when everything happened with Don, also hearing from Janet that you lost your first baby. I had not met you yet and my heart just broke for you. I cried then too and wished I could give you a big hug.

    I am so glad I know you now and that God was so good and gracious to help you grow through those events. It’s amazing how the hardest things we go through make us even stronger and closer to God. I like to think it’s to make us long for heaven 🙂

    Love and hugs – Louanne

  2. I’ve never thought of it like that…I like it though…to make us long for heaven, where there will be no more pain and sorrow 🙂

  3. if anybody can read that post without getting tears in their eyes, then i submit that they are a robot.

  4. What a beautiful post. It is precious to see the beauty and grace of God through the eyes of a smiling baby. May God continue to bless you and yours. See you tomorrow.

  5. What a beautiful reminder that God is good all the time. Thank you for sharing your heart with all of us.

    Little Elliott is blessed to have such a thoughtful, discerning mommy. I wonder if he will ever understand what a joy and light he is in so many lives?

    You and your family are so precious to me!

  6. Such a precious boy! I love this outfit and picture.


Leave a Reply

Categories

