Posted by: Tricia | March 31, 2008

That’s so shady

While I was pregnant I made roman shades for Elliott’s nursery only to discover several months into his life that they let in way too much light. As much as I didn’t want to admit it, Elliott naps so much better with a dark, and I mean dark, room. I came up with a quick fix by throwing some old blankets over my beautiful roman shades…it did the job, but it wasn’t pretty. I searched and searched for some simple roller shades, but none would fit the window frames in our 95 year-old house. So, it was back to the drawing board. My mother-in-law and I got the fabric for Elliott’s bedding and the first set of shades at the Cabbage Rose, and they didn’t have it in stock any more. So I decided to make the new shades out of a simple gray. I had some of the striped material left over from the last set of shades so I added a panel of it at the bottom of each shade. Oh, and most importantly, they are lined with black-out material. I am really happy with them, and I’m pretty sure Elliott loves them, too!

These are the old shades. (notice how much light is coming in)

img_1629.jpg

Here are the new shades!

shades.jpg

shades2.jpg

cute.jpg

He’s so darn cute!

And just for kicks, here are the shades I made for the dining room and kitchen not long after we moved in. The second picture is a close up of the dining room shade.

dining.jpg

dining2.jpg

kitchen.jpg

Responses

  1. Those look great!

  2. Too cute….I really, really, really, need a shade for my bathroom window…are you for hire?

  3. I love Roman Shades! Can you teach me how to make them? I’d like to make a shade for our back bedroom.


Leave a Reply

Categories

