Posted by: Tricia | April 8, 2008

Finger lickin’ good!

We’re starting to introduce finger foods into Elliott’s diet.  I have to admit that I never knew how much of a process it is for babies to learn to eat foods with texture.  I still can’t even get him to eat a mashed up banana!  He’s rejected just about every homemade baby food I’ve slaved away on in the kitchen, but gobbles up any flavor that Gerber and Earth’s Best have to offer. This kid likes his food smooth…and I mean smooth. Anyway, without going into too much detail, I will just say that Elliott’s first few experiences with “real food” caused him to lose his dinner.  I figured this was a pretty clear sign that he just wasn’t ready to move on to finger foods, but after doing some research, I found that it is normal for babies to gag, grimace, and gush over foods that are lumpier than they’re used to. “Keep trying…it is more disturbing to you than to your baby.” Eek…I’d say so!  After a few more tries, Elliott is starting to get the hang of it.  I wouldn’t say he’s a pro, but I think he’ll be sampling a few of mommy and daddy’s favorite foods before we know it!

Responses

  1. WOW… you should sell that top photo to Cheerio’s
    that is a Great Photo… Elliott looks perfect!

  2. What a big boy! He’ll be begging for food off your plate in no time! I’m lovin’ that grin of his in the second picture. Precious!

    I think I’m in trouble…B has started to realize that what I’m eating if often not what he’s eating. And he wants what mommy has! Guess I’ll have to sneak my pop tarts during nap time now.

  3. Funny, I know it is so hard to get past the texture issue. But before you know it he will be so independent that he will be refusing the puree and demanding to do it all himself…that is where I am, and man, oh man is it fun…!

  4. Yep, it WILL be here before you know it. Pate is getting pretty curious about Aggie’s plate….which doesn’t make her too happy;-) We miss you guys…let’s play soon! I’ll look for dates for here next.


Leave a Reply

Categories

