Posted by: Tricia | April 17, 2008

A change will do you good

David and I are amazed at how much Elliott has changed in the last several weeks.  He is really starting to look and act more and more like a little boy and less like a little baby.  We love it!  Here is the low-down on what is happening in our little boy’s world!

On April 2 Elliott turned 8 months old and tooth #2 made its grand entrance! (see picture below)  Around this time he also started throwing temper tantrums…especially when he’s on the changing table.  Although I find it hilarious that he seems to think the world is going to end with each diaper change, David and I are super-aware of our responsibility as parents to make sure Elliott knows that this is not acceptable behavior.

This month Elliott has tried lots of new things.  He had his first cookie…and loved it!  He tried spinach baby food and finally tolerated chicken flavored baby food because it was mixed with sweet potatoes.  He LOVES apricot, blueberry, and pineapple baby food!  He is still working on mastering the art of eating finger foods.  I have given him Cheerios, Gerber puffs, and cut up bananas to try.  Next on the list is kiwi and cantaloupe.

Last week Elliott and I had our first date!  The two of us had never been out to eat alone together, so I took advantage of a day when we had no food in the house and treated myself to a date with my little man at Arby’s!  He was very well behaved, ate all of his carrots and fruit, and on the way out, we rang the bell to say that we loved the service!  Of course, everyone at Arby’s thought that was just precious!

Last weekend David kept Elliott while I went on a Ladies’ church retreat.  It was the first time that David had to take care of Elliott for more than 24 hours and they were both amazing!  Saturday morning David found Elliott in his crib sitting up playing with a toy.  It was the first time he got into a sitting position from his tummy…so cute!  They had lunch at the Swiss Pastry Shop where they both got a lot of attention…what is it about men and cute babies being out and about together?  Then, they had some male bonding time at Lowe’s.  I had a lot of fun being with friends at the retreat, but I was glad to be back home with my family!

Elliott has started to creep and crawl,  too!  He’s taken about 4 steps in a row on one occasion, but I don’t think he realizes that he could really get around and do some damage with this new skill.  We think he’ll be cruising around the house in no time, though!

If all of these changes weren’t exciting enough, Elliott has also decided to drop his lunchtime nap.  He now takes 2 naps of about 1 1/2-2 hours each.  I really enjoy this new schedule because it frees up the middle of my day to do errands and it is much easier to put him down for just two naps.

I guess that just about covers everything….and then some.  We sure are proud of our little boy!

Responses

  1. He’s so cute and I love the update even though I just saw you guys today 🙂

  2. I continue to be endessly impressed with your amazing blog and even more impressed with your sweet boy! He is so darling! I love hearing about all his milestones!

  3. What a great post! I can’t believe what big boy Elliott is getting to be! Jeff just asked me yesterday if he had started crawling and I didn’t know.

    Tell your little man that Bennett and I are real proud of him. I can’t wait to see you…it has been too long!


Leave a Reply

Categories

