Posted by: Tricia | May 5, 2008

Flat on my back

Yesterday, while putting Elliott into his crib for a nap, I pulled a muscle in my back.  I leaned over to put him down and I heard a “pop”.  Ouch….it hurts so bad and I am very, very sad.  I think the extra strain on my back is the result of constantly bending over to pick Elliott up off the floor and put him back where he should be…not where he wants to be… getting into things.  Now I know why people say, “You don’t want him to crawl yet…just wait until you’re chasing him all over the house!”  So, instead of spending a gorgeous Sunday afternoon outside at Mayfest, the three of us stayed in and David had to take care of both Elliott and me.  The worst part of it all is that I can’t do anything!  I miss holding my precious baby boy, and when he cries, I can’t pick him up to comfort him.  If David is out of the room, Elliott will turn and look at me as if he’s thinking “Why won’t you just pick me up?”  I spent the rest of the evening popping IBUprofen like it was candy and icing my back until it was numb.  To my surprise, it actually feels better today.  David took the day off so that he can take care of Elliott and I’m continuing to rest.  Pray for me…and David!  I think he is realizing just how difficult it is to take care of a 9 month old while trying to be productive at the same time!

Responses

  1. Aw, so sorry! Hope everything is going better in your household today. 🙂

  2. I hope you feel better soon.

  3. Aw, Tricia, I’m so sorry! I’m a little late checking the blog so I hope you are good as new already.

    Here is your new mantra: Lift with your legs, not with your back!

    On another note, I didn’t know it was time for Mayfest already! Sad that I missed it. Next year we should all go together!


Leave a Reply

Categories

