Posted by: Tricia | May 14, 2008

Two years

Today marks the 2 year anniversary of the day that David’s dad, Don, passed away.  On March 2, 2006 he was diagnosed with colon cancer and just 10 weeks later, on Mother’s Day, he took his last breath.

We miss him tremendously.

He was a sweet man with a tender heart and I feel blessed to have known him for as long as I did.  David often says that he cannot think of a single moment in his life when he disliked his father.  I don’t think many of us can say the same about our own parents.  My heart aches when I stop and think that Elliott will never know his Pop.  Don was a wonderful grandfather to Anastasia, and I am certain that he would have been a very special part of Elliott’s life, too.

Because I am a sinner, I do not think I will ever stop questioning God.  Why would he allow this to happen?  What will life be like for years and years to come without Don around?  But, time after time, God gives me a peace which surpasses all understanding and I am reminded of his everlasting love.

O death, where is your victory?  O death, where is your sting?  The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law.  But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  1 Corinthians 15:55-57



Responses

  1. I can’t believe it’s been 2 years already. I don’t know many people who could say that about their dads, but my prayer would be for Elliott and Nadia to feel exactly the same about their Dads.

    God is good even in our darkest moments.
    Hugs to you my friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

