Posted by: Tricia | May 29, 2008

Breakfast with Carol

Jesus said to them, “Come and have breakfast.” John 21:12

Last week my mom’s group from church had the pleasure of meeting at Carol’s house for a very special presentation called “Feeding your children breakfast – physically & spiritually”.  Carol is one of my favorite women at FWPCA and I am blessed to know her.  She is wise, caring, fun to be around, and God has given her the amazing ability to teach and mentor young mothers in our church.

I really didn’t know what to expect, but I have to say that I was thoroughly impressed with Carol’s “cooking show”!  She prepared 12 breakfasts for us in 1 1/2 hours!  All of the recipes were easy to make and fun to eat!  Here are some of my favorites.

Fruit turnovers…quick & delicious!  They smelled so good cooking in the oven!

Fruit porcupine kabobs – I didn’t realize it had a face drawn on the other side 🙂


Baked apple with brown sugar, raisins, and whipped cream…need I say more!


Fun pancakes…the best mix I’ve ever tasted!  Of course, it can be found at Central Market.


Louanne with the pancakes, applesauce, and sausages…yum!


Oatmeal faces…I would have made a better face if I knew I was going to take a picture of it.  The eyes and nose are made out of dates…a new fave for me!


A half eaten Egyptian one-eye.  Cut a hole in a piece of toast and crack an egg into it before cooking it on the griddle.  I love eggs…no matter how runny they are!


The orange julius…another one of my favorites!

She also served us yogurt parfaits (delicious & healthy), apricot & white chocolate toast (found at central market), and apple fritters – apple rounds dipped in pancake batter and fried like potatoes on the griddle.  I’ve already tried making those at home!

After we were done stuffing ourselves with scrumptious breakfast foods Carol taught us a little bit about the importance of breakfast, both physically and spiritually.  Some of the physical benefits of breakfast:

  • People who eat breakfast every day are less likely to be obese.
  • Children who regularly eat breakfast think faster, clearer, solve problems more easily, and are less likely to be irritable.
  • Eating breakfast cuts down on tooth decay.

Carol also emphasized the importance of sitting down as a family for breakfast each day.  It is the perfect opportunity to teach our children about God.  Even reading a short Bible story is possible if we just make it a priority.  Taking the time to sit down with our children before they start their day will not only benefit them physically, but more importantly, they will learn the importance of spending time in the Word each morning.

Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

We also talked about the importance of family worship at home…something that David and I are excited about doing with Elliott.

Carol reading out of The Rhyme Bible Storybook.


And to top off an already amazing night, Carol hand-picked all of her favorite childrens’ Bibles, books, cookbooks and CDs and had them there for us to look at.  I was particularly grateful for this part of the presentation because I never know where to start with buying Christian literature for kids.  I’ve already bought The Rhyme Bible Storybook and The Family Worship Book!

I was truly overwhelmed by what I learned that night.  I am so grateful to God for our church, for Carol, and for his promises to bless his children and his children’s children!

The righteous who walks in his integrity – blessed are his children after him! Proverbs 20:7

Responses

  1. Awesome! You summed our night up great. (and made me hungry again!) Can you email me the photos when you have a chance? Thanks.

    My favorite thing was what you already mentioned that she started talking about how Jesus made breakfast for them.

  2. Wow, what a neat experience! I’m curious to know more about some of the CDs and literature she suggested. I feel a little overwhelmed at all the options myself.

    And I also wouldn’t mind you passing on a few of those recipes…yum!

  3. So jealous that you got to have breakfast at Carol’s! Now I get the connection. My parents used to live right down the street from your church, by Oakwood Elementary (is that right?) Now they live out in Aledo, actually closer to where Carol lives.

    Carol and I were French speaking buddies and used to meet at La Madeleine on a weekly basis to learn French together and do an unofficial mentoring thing. She is the best! An example of what I want to be as a mom, grandma, Christian, servant, wife, all of it! Again, so jealous! Tell her I said hi. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

