Posted by: Tricia | July 5, 2008

10 years and counting

I debated about whether or not to even mention our 10 year high school reunion because it was somewhat of a bust, but I think it’s worth noting that we’ve made it this far.

David and I are still really close to a lot of our friends from high school so we joked that we would just be paying to go to the reunion and talk with people that we see fairly often.  That’s pretty much what we did…with the exception of a few “Hi, ____________ (look down at name tag and fill in blank with name on name tag)  “How are you?  What are you up to?, etc., etc.”  There were a few awkward moments, a few surprises, and a few not-surprises.  We were sorely disappointed with the “buffet” that we shelled out $35 a ticket for, and we still had to pay for our drinks.  There were no tacky decorations blaring out “SHS CLASS OF 1998!” anywhere, and there were no greetings or speeches given by our class president or valedictorian.  There were no slide shows or trips down memory lane.  It was what it was, and we made the best of it.  Plus, our neighbors had been dying to babysit Elliott so we finally took them up on their offer.  They had a blast and filled us in on every little detail of his evening when we picked him up.  It was really sweet.

Stacey & Jeff  at the “slim pickins buffet”  (The beginning of the buffet starts just behind Jeff and it ends where Stacey is standing.  The food was tasty even though there wasn’t a lot to choose from.)

Dessert…looks scrumptious, doesn’t it?

The e-vite invitation read “send in one of your favorite 4×6 vertical pictures from high school with your money”.  I searched and searched our attic for my old photo albums, but never found them.  I hastily thumbed through my mom’s photos and found one of David and me standing next to each other before going to homecoming our sophomore year.  We look like we’re tired of having our picture taken and it was not at all one of my favorite pictures of the two of us.  I just didn’t want to be the only one who didn’t send a picture in.  When we arrived at the reunion I expected to see lots of old pictures of everyone there…it would be fun to look at what people sent in.  It was quite the opposite.  There were not lots and lots of pictures displayed (or in a slide show like I would have expected)!  There were about 10 pictures displayed on a bulletin board…5 of which included David or me because our friends sent pictures in, too.  I was absolutely mortified!  I am kicking myself for not snapping a picture of the “David & Tricia” bulletin board…rats!

The most exciting part of the evening came when Laura called on me to help her repair a major wardrobe malfuntion that could have resulted in her revealing a lot more skin that she planned on.  I didn’t have a safety pin but the bartender loaned us some scotch tape.  Her nametag is hiding the evidence 🙂  My brilliant quick-fix didn’t last long, but DeDe came to the rescue with a safety pin and the party went on!

On a happier note, I will say that I enjoyed catching up with a few people that I haven’t seen in a while, and I enjoyed hanging out with some of my dearest friends.  We really loved the pre-party at Kristen & Justin’s house.  We looked through old yearbooks and photo albums and reminisced some of our best memories.

The girls: Laura, Cassie, Kristen, Stacey, Allison, me, and DeDe (all the way from Charleston, SC & 6 months pregnant!!!)

Even though we had a decently fun evening we felt like we were robbed of what could have been a really cool 10 year reunion and a once in a life-time experience.  I guess we’ll just have to take matters into our own hands for our 20 year reunion!

Responses

  1. Nice recap! Please, please send me some pictures…I have none. So sad.

    I’m so happy we’ve stayed friends all these long (but also so short) years. I love you!

  2. Glad that you made the best of it, the buffett was just plain silly though for $35!

  3. Well, I guess I don’t feel as bad for not making it. Jon backed out at the last minute, and I was so mad at him! 🙂 But now I feel like maybe we didn’t miss too much, though I was SO sad to miss you guys! So….we’re going to be calling/e-mailing soon about getting together!


Leave a Reply

Categories

