Posted by: Tricia | July 22, 2008

6 amazing years

David and I celebrated our 6 year anniversary on Sunday!  My, how time flies when you’re having fun!  David planned a really great night out for us on Saturday and kept it a secret until we pulled up to the hotel.  I had never heard of the Belmont Hotel in the Kessler Park area of Dallas, but we were pleasantly surprised by it’s character.  As we drove up David gave me a complete history of the place…it was so like him to have all of his facts straight!   Apparently the Belmont Hotel was built in 1946 for $400,000 (a lot of money back then!) by an architect who also built a lot of homes in Highland Park.  It was originally an old motor inn, but in 2005, it was restored.  Many of the original details still exist.  The hotel was built into the side of the hill and has an amazing view of downtown Dallas.

We checked into our room in the afternoon and had fun looking around the hotel.

Our room was two levels, had a view of downtown Dallas, and was near the pool.

We had dinner at the Cliff restaurant right on the hotel grounds.  It was delicious!  We both ate way too much!

After dinner we walked around the hotel grounds and went for a late night swim in the salt water pool.  Then, we sat out beside the pool on a perfectly manicured grassy area and talked as we admired the Dallas skyline.  This was our first anniversary since becoming parents, and boy, did we talk about our little one a lot!

I woke up early the next morning…I guess Elliott has trained my internal alarm clock to go off even when he’s not around!  Rats!  I was kicking myself for not bringing anything to read by the pool so I watched a little tv until David woke up.  We grabbed a cup of coffee in the lobby and headed to the pool for another swim.  And, this time we had to pool all to ourselves!

After our dip in the pool we headed back to the room and got dressed for breakfast at Cafe Brazil.  By the time breakfast was over we were so anxious to see Elliott that we decided not to linger any longer.

It was wonderful for the two of us to have some alone time.  I can’t believe that we have already been married for 6 years!  I can remember our wedding day like it was just yesterday.  It was one of the happiest days of my life and I am so thankful that I get to share my life with David.

Just for fun: here are a few pictures from each of our 6 anniversaries!

1 year – before the Norah Jones concert

2 years – in the Mayan Riviera, Mexico!

3 years – in San Antonio

4 years – in St. John, USVI (where we also went on our honeymoon)

5 years – in Fort Worth (just days away from meeting Elliott!)

6 years – in Dallas, TX at the Belmont Hotel

Thanks for making my life amazing, Babe!  I love you!

Responses

  1. Congratulations, D and T.

  2. Congratulations on 6 years! The hotel looks awesome. I remember our first anniversary after Tobey was born and how much we appreciated our night out.

  3. Yeah for 6 years. I LOVE all the photos!


Leave a Reply

Categories

