Posted by: Tricia | July 28, 2008

28

That’s right…Sunday I celebrated my 28th birthday.  For some reason I had been dreading 28.  I’m not quite sure why…maybe it was because it is so dangerously close to 30.  But, thanks to my family I had a fantastic birthday and I am finding out that turning 28 is not really so bad after all.

Saturday night my mom and Dave fixed a yummy pot roast, veggies, and delicious homemade rolls.  And, to top it off, I even had my own little birthday cake!  We decided to let Elliott practice eating cake so that he would know what to do at his own birthday party in less than a week!!  Yeah, he didn’t need any practice…what was I thinking?  This kid will devour anything that you put in front of him to eat!

Sunday after church we met the Welches, my dad, and Alyona at Rio Mambo for lunch.  Again…the food was tasty and enjoyed by all!  I felt so special being the recepient of the Welch family funny card tradition!

That afternoon we took Elliott for an indoor swim at our gym (I’ll post more about our new gym later!).  We had to whole pool to ourselves!  He seemed to like swimming inside a lot better because the sun wasn’t in his eyes.  I have to admit that I liked it a lot too…sometimes even a sun-bunny can have fun inside!

Then, on Sunday night David and I enjoyed a night out in downtown Fort Worth.  I had my hopes set on having sushi, but it just wasn’t in the cards for me that night!  After driving to our favorite spot only to find out that they are closed on Sundays, we headed toward downtown to try out a new place.  No such luck…closed on Sundays.  What is it with sushi and Sundays??  We put our name in for a 30 minute wait at yet another sushi restaurant, but our rumbling stomachs got the best of us, so we gave in and got a table at P.F. Chang’s.  And, we made it to our movie on time, too!

I may not have gotten my sushi fix, but I had a wonderful birthday weekend!  Thank you, everyone, for making my birthday special this year!

Responses

  1. Gah, I am such a slacker friend! I’m so happy to hear you had a fabulous birthday even without my acknowledgement of the occasion (ha!).

    Sorry you missed out on sushi but glad you and E were able to enjoy swimming together. I love ya much girl! Happy 28th!!

  2. Happy Birthday….I am SUCH a sushi fan. Let’s grab lunch sometime soon.

  3. Happy Birthday! It looks like your day was wonderful. And have no fear about 30, there is nothing to it girl!

  4. Happy birthday! I would love to hear about this gym of yours…

    You know, what, my guess is 28 was a weird year, but you won’t even care about 30. 26, or 27 was weird for me, but I loved turning 30. I loved it like it was my best friend! Yeah 30!!… okay yell that, then down another drink and try to hope that it will come true…just kidding! I really do love my thirties!


Leave a Reply

Categories

