Posted by: Tricia | August 29, 2008

Girlfriend Getaway

Last weekend I joined my best girlfriends for a weekend getaway in Granbury!  This was our second annual girls’ trip; the first was in Canton last April.  I don’t get to see these sweet girls as often as I would like, so I was super excited to get some QT with each of them.

Laura and I let our hair loose on the way there in her sporty new VW Eos!

And, it was Laura, who researched the web and found this super cute loft right on the square!

Here are Laura and I standing in front of the door to the loft.

I don’t think the owner is very concerned with advertising the place.  I searched many times for places to stay in Granbury and never came across The Granbury Square Flat.  Laura claims that the only reason she found it was because she specifically searched for the terms “Granbury” and “square” at the same time.  There was no sign pointing to the loft…just a teeny tiny placard on the front door.  That being said, if you’re looking for a good place to stay in Granbury, you’ve got to check this place out!  It sleeps 5, has two bathrooms, a library, and a full kitchen, too!

After getting settled at the loft we headed out in search of some food!  Cassie did all of the researching for good food in Granbury before we got there…and her research paid off!  We splurged on 5 different dipping sauces for our breadsticks and devoured our pasta.  We practically had to roll out of the restaurant afterward because we were so full!

And, what’s a trip to a small town in Texas without a trip to Wal-Mart?  We went in search for cute sundresses like Kristen’s…but who were we kidding?  No one could look as cute as Kristen in those sundresses!  We did have a lot of fun perusing the aisles and acting silly.  I had forgotten how much easier it is to shop without a baby!

We stayed up until the wee hours of the morning chatting like high school girls and slept in until lunch time the next day!  I can’t remember the last time I slept in past 8:00 a.m., much less 11:00 a.m.!  We enjoyed a casual breakfast…ahem…brunch at the loft and then hit the shops on the square!

After lunch at quaint restaurant we indulged ourselves in a little wine tasting at D’Vine Wine.

And, for dinner we all worked together to make a fantastic meal!

Stacey, the head chef, planned for us to have Tilapia with a tasty tomatillo sauce, served on a bed of brown rice, with spinach salad and corn on the cob for sides.  Oh, and a little white wine to top it off!

It was scrumptious!

And, enjoyed by all!

I made a caramel cake with chocolate icing for dessert…yum!  And, after dinner we played cards, talked, laughed, and even cried.  Afterall, what good is a girlfriend getaway weekend without a few heart to heart conversations and a few tears shed?  I had been looking foward to this weekend for many reasons.  One of them being sleep!  What were we thinking….staying up until 5:00 in the morning??  Gone are the days where parents come in to lay down the law and ask giggling girls to quiet down and get some shut eye!  Although a little extra sleep would have been nice, I wouldn’t have traded the time we spent talking for a hundred extra hours of sleep!

These girls have been my closest friends since Jr. high, and I cannot imagine my life without them!  I can remember so vividly the day that I was invited to have lunch at their lunch table in the cafeteria!   It was soooo Jr. high drama!  I didn’t realize it at the time, but at that moment I made friends for life, and I will never be the same. There will be many more girlfriend getaways to come.  We laugh about it now, but before we know it we will so be those 40-something year-olds wearing matching bedazzled visors perusing the aisles of antique shops in some teeny-tiny town in Texas that we have yet to grace with our presence!

Responses

  1. Can we save the bedazzled visors until our 50’s? 40 just doesn’t seem quite far enough away for that kind of fashion statement. 🙂

    I loved your recap! And I’m going to need some of your pictures. So send the timer shots my way!

  2. It looks like you guys just had the best time!!

  3. what a precious post. i think it is fantastic that you had such quality girl time! good for you!! the laughing and talking till 5 am sounds like a scene from a movie!!!….or a really sappy commercial!


Leave a Reply

Categories

