Posted by: Tricia | September 9, 2008

Mama’s boy

He loves me….he really loves me!!!

Elliott has never been a clingy baby with David or me.  He has always been content to play with other kids, stay with friends and family, and spend a few hours in the church nursery.  When it’s time to go, he’s just as laid back when he sees us again.  We feel blessed to have such an easy-going baby, but at the same time, we all want what we don’t have, right?  I have imagined, waited, and dreamed about the day that Elliott will cling to me for dear life when a stranger reaches for him.  Although I feel bad for them, I think it’s sweet to see the other babies crying for their mommies when they’ve been left behind.  Oh, to be loved like that!!  Even more, I have longed for the day when he sees me coming and runs to give me a great big hug!

On Sunday my heart nearly melted.  He caught me off guard, and made my day.  When I went to pick him up from the nursery after church he saw me, gave a great big smile, dropped the toy, said “mama” and came running to me with his arms outstretched.  I nearly cried right there and we hugged all the way down the hallway.  My boy is so sweet.  Thank you, God, for making me his mama.

Responses

  1. Aw…I love it! Your sweet story brought tears to my eyes. Of COURSE he loves you, but it is great to get that reassurance that you are #1 in his world.

    Precious pictures too!

  2. Sweet thing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

