Posted by: Tricia | December 4, 2008

Giving Thanks

I am so thankful to God for blessing me with so much more than I deserve.  I am thankful for a wonderful husband who loves me completely despite all of my flaws, for said wonderful husband who is a fantastic father, for a beautiful son that I have been given the responsibility of raising, for being able to be a stay-at-home mommy, for a flexible job that I love, for incredible friends, for family, for a beautiful home that is more than adequate for all of our needs, for the beautiful sunsets in Fort Worth, and for a God who loves me so much that he was willing to make the ultimate unimaginable sacrifice of dying for my sins.  The list could go on and on and on.  I have so many things to be thankful for…may my eyes always be opened to see them!

But we your people, the sheep of your pasture,

will give thanks to you forver;

from generation to generation

we will recount your praise.  Psalm 79:13

tg1

Keeping with tradition, we celebrated Thanksgiving in New Braunfels with David’s family. David’s mom’s identical twin sister and her husband have 9 children ranging from 30 years to 10 years. Being an only child, I am amazed and intrigued by their BIG family! It is always so much fun to see all of them and catch up. When David and I began dating nearly 15 years ago the youngest two Mitchells didn’t even exist! Now they are 12 and 10! And, the oldest has 3 children of her own now!  (Now that I’m writing this post I am really disappointed  that I don’t have a picture of them)

Elliott experienced his first taste of a real Thanksgiving meal.  I wish I could say that he loved it, but these days he is quite the picky eater.  He did enjoy the cranberry sauce…and he especially enjoyed the pumpkin pie!

tg4

After we were done stuffing ourselves full of turkey and dressing we took a walk down to the river…another tradition!  It is a beautiful and serene place to be and it feels so good to work some of the calories off, too!  The water was cold, but Elliott and I enjoyed putting our feet in anyway!

tg3

His favorite part of the trip to the river were the rocks.

tg71

Here you can see he is practicing his latest trick…pick up any object, any object; hold it up as if it were a phone and say “hello” and “bye-ee” into it over and over again.  So cute!

tg8

tg9

Here we are at the river last year…my how our baby boy has grown!  He definitely wasn’t playing with rocks and dipping his toes in the frigid water last year!

tg2007

tg2007-2

As always, we stayed with David’s grandparents, Papa and Grandmother. They live in a 100+ year-old home that they have delicately restored down to the tiniest detail. It is absolutely gorgeous and we love exploring it! They are always working on new projects around the house and they are happy to let us see their progress! Grandmother is an incredible cook and I love getting cooking advice from her!

papa

Elliott was such a good boy while we were away.  He seems to thrive on new and exciting adventures.  I guess staying at home with boring old mom can get old!  We even managed to get in on some of the incredible black Friday sales.  Thanks for being such a trooper, little man!  We sure did enjoy a little time away and we especially enjoyed the relaxing time we got to spend together as a family.

tg6

tg5

Responses

  1. What fun! Great pictures of Mr. Elliott. It is always so amazing to me what a difference a year makes.

    He looks so unbelievably adorable and grown up in that last picture! That’s not a baby…that’s a little boy!

  2. So sweet. I am glad you guys had such a good time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

