Posted by: Tricia | January 22, 2009

Worth the Wait

Recently I started making a list of fun things to do with Elliott.  When I started “googling” “fun things to do with a toddler” I was surprised to discover that there were so many things I had forgotten about; things like sidewalk chalk and homemade play dough.  These cold winter days (not like today!) that force us to stay inside can be challenging for both Elliott and me.  There is only so much playing with toys that we can both stand!  As I was searching for things to do with a toddler I added “make cookies” to my list, thinking that I would probably end up doing most of it alone…except the eating, of course!  Au contraire…it turns out that my little cookie monster is just as interested in making the cookies as he is in eating the cookies!

Rather than making our cookies from scratch or using the Pillsbury precut cookie sqaures, I decided to use the bag mix…fewer ingredients than making them from scratch, but still requires more work than the easy precut squares.

cookies12

I pulled a chair up to the counter for Elliott to stand on.  He LOVED the view and was so excited to be a part of what was going on!

cookies21

He couldn’t wait to get started!

cookies3

He dumped the cookie mix into the bowl and placed the butter in, too.  I broke the egg…that’s a skill that he’ll have to learn much later!  Then, we began stirring!  He’s such a good stirrer.

cookies4

I tried to show him how to roll the dough into balls, but he didn’t quite get it.  He did, however, love putting the balls onto the cookie sheet.  I should have taken a picture of the random order he placed them in…so cute!  In order to make more room… for more cookies, of course!… I put them all into rows.

cookies5

It didn’t take long for Elliott to realize that the cookie dough tastes pretty good!  Don’t worry, I didn’t let him eat any.  He did get a few good licks in though!  Next time we make something together I am going to look for a recipe without raw egg so that we can lick the beaters together!

cookies6

He was all smiles until it was time to put the cookies in the oven to bake!  Poor thing…he couldn’t understand why the cookies had to go away.  I assured him that it would just be about 10 minutes and encouraged him to watch the cookies through the oven window.

cookies7

It felt like we waited an eternity.

We waited…

cookies8

…and waited…

…until finally…

cookies9

…the cookies were DONE!  Elliott did a good job blowing on the cookies to cool them off.

cookies101

He kept exclaiming “eat, eat”, and I assured him that it wouldn’t be long.

cookies111

He loved helping with the spatula.  Aren’t kitchen utensils the greatest?

cookies121

At last it was time to EAT!

cookies13

Hooray!

cookies14

Elliott sat in a big chair like a big boy and meticulously ate…

cookies15

…every…

..last…

…bite!

cookies16

And, it was worth the wait!

Responses

  1. What a cute post! I love all the pictures…especially teary Elliott wanting the cookies back.

    I’ve done a little bit of cooking with a toddler “helper” but haven’t managed to juggle the assistant and a camera at the same time. Way to go, you!

    By the way, I miss Movie Monday!

  2. What a great post! If I ever make cookies from scratch (or even buy the squares), I end up just eating the dough, raw eggs and all.

  3. That is so cute!! I love all the pictures of him waiting. You must have amazing willpower, I love raw cookie dough. Eggs and all!

  4. What fun, we love to cook here too, but as mentioned above, not brave enough to have camera in hand! We made brownies the other day and after Pate realized his sticky, gooey hands tasted so good….I caught him milliseconds before dipping his entire face in!

    I have a couple of sights in my sidebar. Both have really good, fast crafts that I have been able to adjust for both ages!

  5. That’s a great story told in photos! I love cookies.


Leave a Reply

Categories

