Posted by: Tricia | January 26, 2009

Fragile

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.  Psalm 90:12

On Saturday I attended a sweet little tea party honoring my friend Kara, and her newborn baby, Penn.  It was a wonderful celebration of the miracle of life.

On Sunday afternoon I was reminded how fragile the miracle of life is.  I attended the funeral of my precious friend, Leigh Ann’s husband.  He slipped away in his sleep in the wee hours of the night Thursday, leaving behind an incredible wife of 10 years and a son of only 18 months.  My heart is broken for her.  I cannot even begin to imagine the pain that she feels right now.  So many questions flood my mind, but they don’t even compare to the questions that she is probably asking.  I don’t know why God called Vince home at such a young age.  I don’t know why Leigh Ann was suddenly thrown into this role of a widow and single mother at such a young age.  I don’t know why Alex will never see his daddy again in this life.  These are all horribly ugly things to think about, and it angers me to tears.  Even as I wrestle with these questions, and not having all of the answers, I do know one thing…and that is that God is always faithful.  He always fulfills his promises.  And, he always intends to do us good and not harm.   I also know that he is faithful to provide a peace that surpasses all understanding during difficult times to those who trust in Him.  Leigh Ann is trusting in Him.  Although I don’t have all of the answers, He does, and I will trust him, too.

Responses

  1. Tricia – that is so sad and I am so sorry for your friend. I totally understand. I couple people I know lost their children last year and I couldn’t wrap my head around it. One was 4 years old and the other was 3 years old. I can’t even fathom their pain.

    But what you said at the end is what we need to cling to. He is faithful and He will provide peace.

  2. My heart is absolutely breaking for your friend and her precious baby! I just have no words. We will be praying for her.


Leave a Reply

Categories

