Posted by: Tricia | July 7, 2009

The Puzzler

Elliott loves to “play puzzles”. And, I must admit that I love interacting with him while he’s doing them. Instead of being neatly organized and stacked into a puzzle rack, all of our puzzles and their pieces are thrown into a basket like some sort of puzzle stew. I kind of like it that way, and I think Elliott does too. I love watching him sift through the pieces searching for just the right one. He gets so excited when he finally locates it! I love encouraging him to “turn it around…you’ve almost got it”. And then, “Hooray!!!!! You did it!” I love praising him for showing patience and for not giving up. It is one of my favorite things to do with him.

So naturally, I was one proud mama when David and I found him in his room by himself one evening like this:

puzzler

Our little puzzler was working 7 puzzles at once! He worked quickly and methodically, searching for the pieces, and placing them in the right spots. He didn’t give up and he even remembered to cheer himself on when he succeeded! Hooray for puzzles!

Responses

  1. Haha…puzzle stew, what a great word picture. I’m so proud of Elliott working on all those puzzles by himself! Way to go!

    And way to go you for instilling a positive mind-set in him and encouraging perseverance! I love that he was giving himself little pep talks. Adorable!

  2. Holy cow! I love that photo!

  3. […] in puzzles for quite some time now.  It’s one of the many ways that he is different from Elliott.  He is much too busy of a boy to want to sit down and focus on a silly thing like a puzzle!  […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

