Posted by: Tricia | January 20, 2010

23 weeks!

Jude baby belly at 22.3 weeks

•Jude is 23 weeks!  This is a huge milestone because now, as we say in the NICU world, he is “viable”.  It sounds incredibly scientific and cold, but it’s true, and I couldn’t be more excited!  I’m excited but pleading with him to hold off on being born for a lot longer!

•I wish we had remembered to take a picture of my growing belly every month.  I love it when people do this and put it together in a slide show…especially those who are really organized and wear the same thing each time!  I do have some pictures of my belly with Elliott so I am going to try and snap a few of my belly with Jude at the same point in the pregnancy so we’ll at least have something to compare it to.

•We had a sonogram last week and everything looked great!  He is growing exactly as he should be.

•They are watching the baby and my blood pressure closely so I will have monthly sonograms until he is born.

•David felt him kicking for the first time at 21 weeks.  That’s about a month sooner than with Elliott!

•Jude’s most active time of the day seems to be around 9pm when I am finally still and resting in bed.  This was Elliott’s active time, too.  I’m assuming that he probably has other active times during the day, but that I just can’t feel him as much because I’m too busy chasing a 2 year-old around!

•Speaking of kicking…for a long time I was somewhat concerned because I couldn’t feel Jude moving as much as I remembered Elliott moving at this point in the pregnancy.  Another part of me thought that maybe he was just more laid back…more of a shifter and a roller than a kicker.  I asked my midwife about it and she assured me that it was just because my placenta is positioned right out in front, making a nice soft cushion to shield all of those kicks.  Sure enough, a few days later I began to feel him moving a lot more.  I’m positive now that Jude is not the laid back shifter and roller that I thought he might be.  He’s a kicker, just like his big brother, and I am loving every sweet kick that I feel!

•I don’t have any cravings other than ranch dressing!  Yum!  My only craving with Elliott was for tomato sauce in any form…ketchup, soup, pasta sauce, etc.  I find it fascinating that it is one of Elliott’s favorite foods now!  Will Jude be slathering his finger foods with ranch dressing?  I can’t wait to find out!

•For months Elliott was not keen on the idea of having a new baby in the house.  Every time we would talk about the baby he would shake his head and say, almost angrily, “I don’t need a baby!”  Although it was cute at first, it really started to bother me.  How was I going to prepare Elliott for this baby if he was so opposed to the idea already?  One day we were talking and our conversation went something like this:

Me: Elliott, Mommy has a baby in her tummy.  Do you want a baby?

Elliott: I don’t want a baby!  I don’t want a baby in my tummy!

At that moment I realized that the whole time we had been talking about the baby Elliott thought that we were asking him if he wanted a baby in his tummy!  Well, of course he didn’t want a baby in his tummy…that would be weird!  I would have been angry if the question were repeated to me over and over again, too!  I explained to him that the baby is only in Mommy’s tummy and that it grows bigger and bigger until God is ready for it to come out.  Then, the baby comes to live with us in our home and it never goes back into Mommy’s tummy…or anyone’s tummy for that matter!  Once he understood that he has been pro-baby ever since!

•Elliott talks about Jude often.  He likes to talk about all of the things that he is going to show Jude and help Jude with.  He also talks to Jude inside my belly.  He seems to have a pretty good grasp on what is going on.  He says “Jude is inside Mommy’s belly and God will make him be borned and he will get bigger and play with me!”

•This week my sweet mother-in-law and I made a trip to the fabric shop to pick out the material for Jude’s baby bedding.  She made Elliott’s and I was so happy with it!  We weren’t opposed to using the same bedding for both boys, but she insisted that Jude have his own.  It was such a fun day and I am thrilled with what we picked out!  I will post pictures of the nursery when we’re done with it.

•This weekend we will probably purchase a big boy bed for Elliott making it possible for us to start moving the nursery furniture into Jude’s room.  I can’t wait to see everything starting to come together!

•It occurred to me last week sometime that I will have to give birth to this baby in a few months!  I have been so focused on imagining our family of 4 that I forgot to think about the birth!  I am nervous about it…more nervous than the first time.  Elliott was not a big baby.  He weighed in at 6 lbs 3 ounces, and I pushed for 3 hours before he made his grand entrance!  I am worried about growing a bigger baby (which wouldn’t be hard to do!) and pushing for hours only to end up in the OR with a c-section.  It is definitely something that I need to give over to God in prayer.  He has a perfect plan for Jude’s birth and I need to trust in Him.

•Overall, I feel pretty good.  This week I have felt more tired and taken more naps, but physically I am getting around without problems.  My body feels a little more stiff and out of shape than I remember with Elliott, but that’s probably because I am!  I thought that chasing after a 2 year-old would count for some exercise points, but apparently not enough!

Responses

  1. Oh, I’m so glad you figured out E’s aversion to baby talk! That is really cute. He will be a great big brother!

    I just can’t wait to meet little Jude! We will be praying for a safe, non-surgical delivery and for you to have peace as the day gets closer.

  2. Isn’t God good? All the cool stuff we experience during gestation is AWESOME!!! I’m so excited for y’all. (BTW, C-Sections, not a bad thing. I was VERY pleased with my quick and easy recovery!)

  3. Well, thank you for the update! I can imagine being nervous about giving birth. I know you will be fine though…I was like 9 lbs, and Mom said it wasn’t that bad, of course I was born in 45 minutes…I will pray that you could have a fast and easy delivery like that too. We love you and miss you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

