Posted by: Tricia | January 21, 2010

Sweetness

We are in the thick of the terrible twos, but somehow Elliott continues to grow sweeter with time.  We are so blessed by this little boy and his sweetness!

•Elliott has started singing along with us at bedtime.  I remember the first time I heard him singing the words to Holy, Holy, Holy and Amazing Grace with David over the monitor.  My heart melted.  One night I finally remembered to grab the video camera and record the sound of their singing coming from the baby monitor, but it is really difficult to make out Elliott’s voice on the recording.  So, you’ll just have to take my word for it…it is absolutely one of the sweetest sounds I have ever heard…my family praising God through song. Together.

•Within the last month or so Elliott has begun telling us that he loves us without any prompting.  Hearing those three words is enough to make up for all of the fighting, grumbling, complaining, and temper tantrums that come along with the terrible twos!

•Elliott has begun to express his likes and dislikes.  It is so neat to hear him talk about the things he likes without being asked.  For example, he will say “I like this macaroni and cheese, Mommy.” without any prompting instead of me saying, “Do you like your macaroni and cheese?”.  Some of my favorite things to hear him say are, “I’m having a fun day with you today, Mommy.”  or “It’s a wonderful day today, Mommy!”  I can’t get enough of it!

•Speaking of likes and loves, here is a conversation that David and Elliott had a few weeks ago after reading books before bed.

David: What do you want to do now, Elliott?

Elliott:  I want to sing.

I like singing with you, Daddy.

I like reading with you, Daddy.

I like praying with you, Daddy.

I like going to bed at night with you, Daddy.

I love you, Daddy.

Oh my goodness!  David practically floated out of the room that night.  I am still amazed that a 2 year-old would even care to let his Daddy know how much he loves being with him.  Thank you, God, for giving us these precious moments, at just the right times, when we have run out of steam and are feeling beaten down by the challenges of being parents!

Responses

  1. I agree, they seem to know just the right moment to insert such sweetness! When the stress of the day gets to me I think about one day how much I will miss the hectic, noisy home I now live in.

  2. I got on your blog to show my mom your super-cute bathroom redo and now you’ve gone and made me cry! What a sweet little boy you have. Love him. Enjoyed seeing you today! Your friendship is such a blessing to me.

  3. I am crying too. David is working and he is enjoying the wages that come from the labor. You are too.

    This reminds me of beautiful words from Doug Wilson about holding children in church: “The weight of glory you are carrying is far beyond the weight of toddlers in your lap.” [The longer quote is here.]

    Consistent farming…good harvest.

    Thanks for sharing this,
    Luke

  4. Ooops, didn’t mean to make it sound like only David is working…. haha. I would never say that.

    I mean both of you are enjoying the fruit of your hands.

    Krista is making fun of me over my shoulder,
    Luke

    • Ha ha. I knew what you meant 😉 Thanks for the link to Doug Wilson’s blog. I was just having a conversation about this with one of my girlfriends a few days ago. I will be sure to pass it along to her. I LOVE the quote…as much as I love having Elliott in worship service with us on Sunday mornings, I often find myself selfishly wishing that I could “worship in peace!” and I forget about the impact that it has on him, an unbeliever. Thank you for sharing and “Hi” to Krista, too!

  5. I’m glad you wrote about how Elliott sings with you now. When he was with me last week, I held him and started singing songs with him in the darkened room before his nap. When I started “Jesus Loves the Little Children”, he started singing with me! It was such a special precious moment and a really wonderful surprise. I didn’t know he could do this. We sang song after song, and he knew most of the words. He just amazes me time after time, and I feel so blessed to be his Grandma.

  6. That is so super sweet. Melts my heart.

  7. Wow, how touching! I’m having trouble typing for the tears in my eyes…


Leave a Reply

Categories

