Posted by: Tricia | April 15, 2010

Plan B

After I wrote this post about our potty training dilemma and got your feedback I made up my mind to take off a week in March to devote to doing away with the diapers!  I figured that we might as well try, and if we didn’t succeed, at least we would know that we’d given it a good effort.  Well, I did end up taking a week off, but not for potty training…Elliott got sick and I used all of my time off nursing him back to health. 

Soooooo, we moved on to plan B…waiting until after Jude is born to start the potty training process.  I must admit that I was a little relieved when we were left with no other choice than to wait.  Now that we are 5 weeks away from Jude’s due date, there is definitely no turning back in my mind.  Our fate is sealed.  We will have a newborn in the house, a very tired mommy and daddy, and a nearly 3 year-old with no interest in becoming a “big boy”.  I’m just hoping and praying that we have made the right decision and that through a combination of clever bribes, reasoning, and natural instinct, we will have a successfully potty trained 3 year old by the end of the summer!

Last night, unbeknownst to me, Elliott had a dirty diaper for a while and when I went to change him he’d developed a mild diaper rash.  He whined and complained that he needed medicine on it, to which we obliged.  I also managed, with a lot of persuasion, to convince him to wear a pair of underwear for a while.  He chose a pair with Goofy on them and opted to go without pants, in just a t-shirt, underwear, and rain boots.  Awesome.  No big deal!  Within a few minutes he was asking for a diaper again.  What?  An itchy, scratchy baby diaper over some totally cool and comfy big boy Goofy underwear??  I just don’t get it.  When I asked him why he wanted to wear a diaper and not big boy underwear his response was classic.

Because I just do.  I don’t normally go to the potty.

Then it hit me,  shouldn’t a 2 1/2 year-old who uses the word “normally” unprompted in a complete sentence be able to master going to the potty?

I suppose as with most other battles we’ve had, we will just have to wait on Mr. E to decide when he’s ready. 

Stinker.

Responses

  1. In the end it will work out fine. Caleb’s started to show some interest in potty training, but has lately refused to even go sit on the potty, something he used to want to do. I had already decided we’d wait until after Newbie2 is born, but Caleb had kind of gotten my hopes up. I guess we’re back to plan A!

  2. He looks like such a big boy.

  3. Those eyes! To die for…really!

    He’ll get it sooner or later, E is an incredibly bright little boy. I think potty training is about the parents’ readiness and much as the kid’s. So when y’all feel sufficiently energetic to tackle it then it will all come together. It won’t necessarily happen without any challenges, but it will happen, I have no doubt!

  4. He will get it! The normally quote cracked me up!

  5. My boys took forever. But they do eventually use the potty ALL the time, even if they still don’t wipe most of the time at 8 and 7…


Leave a Reply

Categories

