Posted by: Tricia | May 20, 2010

Happy Due Date, Jude!

Jude, today is your official due date! Let me just say that I am so happy that you came early, and that we have had 11 “extra” days to get to know you and love on you!  It seemed like an appropriate day to take a moment to write a few things down about you that we don’t want to forget.  Plus, today is the first day since you’ve been born that I actually feel somewhat normal.  Whew!  Recovering from your birth has not gone as quickly as I would have liked, but fortunately when I look at you, I am reminded of what an incredible blessing you are, and that makes up for all of the uncomfortableness in the world!

First of all, let’s talk about your hair!  You have RED hair!  Your daddy and I cannot believe it and not a day goes by that we both pinch ourselves and say “how in the world did we end up with a red-headed baby?”  What’s even weirder is that your big brother predicted you would have red hair.  How could he have known?  Thankfully, you do not have the red eyes that he prophesied you would have as well.   People often ask us if we think you look like Elliott.  The answer is “yes” and “no”.  When your eyes are closed you look more like your brother to me than when they are open.  You definitely look like brothers, but you have got a look that is very unique to you!  You are absolutely beautiful with your heart-shaped lips, chubby cheeks, and red hair!  And, we wouldn’t change a thing!

I prayed for 9 months that you would be a laid-back baby.  I had my doubts though because of how incredibly active you were in the womb.  Your brother is a wild and crazy boy and he was never as wiggly in the womb as you were!  But, my how different you are now that you are outside of my tummy!  You couldn’t possibly be more laid back!  We have heard you cry only a few times, and it’s usually just one little “wah”.  You are incredibly patient, even when you’re hungry or getting a bath.  Sometimes I wish I didn’t have to spend so much time trying to wake you up to eat, but I wouldn’t trade your sweetness for anything!  Now I am praying that your laissez-faire attitude carries over into your toddler years, too!

You are super cuddly…another thing I prayed for.  You love to be held and lay prone on mommy’s chest.  You practically melt into me and I savor every moment of it!  One thing we’ve also noticed about you is that you love to have your legs pulled in close to your body.  This is completely opposite of your brother, who would stand up on his two legs whenever given the chance.  You look a lot smaller and pear-shaped because of it!

You are a pretty good eater.  You nurse like a champ for about 10-15 minutes, and then I have to spend a lot of time trying to wake you up.  About half-way through your feedings you usually need to burp, be stripped down to you diaper, and laid out on the bed so that you’ll wake back up.  After trying to wake you up with a cold wet rag to your face and having no luck, I finally discovered that you really hate having your feet tickled.  It usually does the trick when I need you to eat more!

You are growing like a weed!  We aren’t sure how much you weigh today, but a week ago you were 6 lb 14 oz;  2 oz bigger than your birth weight.  Your size has noticeably increased.  You feel much more sturdy and your face and tummy have started to fill out.  You’ll go in for your 2 week check-up with the doctor on Monday and I think it’s safe to say that you are probably around 7 1/2-8 lbs by then.

You smile…a lot!  I’ve never believed that babies can truly smile this early, but you have created some doubts in my mind, sweet boy.  Several times a day, usually when your daddy is talking to you or tickling your face and feet with his beard, your cute little heart-shaped lips will turn up into the perfect little smile and you’ll hold it there for several seconds.  It is absolutely adorable and I can’t wait until you are smiling all the time!

We are working on trying to keep you awake more during the day.  You tend to perk up right after Elliott goes to bed around 8:30-9 o’clock and you’ll stay awake until midnight.  You’re not really fussy, but you would much rather be looking around and interacting with us than sleeping in your bed!  This is also the time of day that you like to do several feedings, clustered about 1 hour apart.  This is no bueno for mommy and daddy.  We have a 2 year-old who likes to wake up at the crack of dawn so we have got to nip this in the bud soon!

We attempted to move you into your room 2 nights ago, but had to forgo our plans due to your brand-new monitor not working.  Bummer.  For now, you remain in your bassinet in our room, but I take you into your room to nurse you during the night.  Now that I’m able to move around more easily I like it much better.  I can turn on your lamp and talk to you better than in our dark and quiet room where daddy is trying to get some much needed rest.  Plus, your Grandma gifted us with an incredibly comfortable glider and ottoman that I could spend hours rocking you in!  It is wonderful!

Well, I suppose I could go on and on about how amazing you are, but you get the point…you are an absolute doll baby, and we couldn’t love you more!  Words cannot express how excited I am to be your mommy and to watch you grow and change into the person God created you to be!

Responses

  1. Jude is so cute!! I can’t believe he is almost 2 weeks old! Glad you guys are doing great 🙂

  2. What beautiful words and what a fabulous photo. I’m so happy you got a laid-back snuggle bug of a baby. Beautiful, darling boy!

  3. sweet

  4. […] should have known better than to post this post because a few days later our seemingly laid-back baby did a 180 and started to have an opinion of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

