Posted by: Tricia | August 13, 2010

Party On!

This is a little late, but I wanted to make sure I blogged about the happenings on and around my 30th birthdayLast year, after having to move out of our house on my birthday, I whined that I wanted a redo the next year.  Well, I feel like my friends and family definitely came through for me this year!  I got way more attention than I deserved and I more than made up for the lack of birthday celebrations on my 29th birthday. The party seemed to go on and on!

Because my mom was going to be out of town for business on my birthday we got together a few days before.  She served me a sweet “girl’s lunch” as she so appropriately named it.  It included a tasty soup, an Asian salad, and fresh fruit.  She also surprised me with these adorable Adirondack chairs!

Aren’t they cute?  I can’t wait to make some cushions for them soon!

A few days later some of my closest and dearest friends from high school got together at Cassie’s pool.  It was a family affair with lots of good food, fun, and swimming!  They even had a cake made and sang “Happy Birthday”!

Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of everyone together, but I did manage to get a good one of me with my boys.  Sweet Jude fell asleep in my arms in the pool.

My birthday was on a Tuesday so David decided to take the day off.  For breakfast we pigged out on “birthday donuts” that Elliott helped pick out. Mmmm….mmmmm.  I opened my gift and was super surprised and excited to see that it was a new video camera!  This thing is awesome!  It takes really high quality digital videos, is really easy to use, and fits perfectly inside my diaper bag!  And, as if that weren’t enough, it even works underwater!!  I have used it almost every day since I got it.

After breakfast and a casual morning at home, we dropped both kids off at Janet’s house and headed out for a sushi lunch.  The temperature was actually only in the low 90’s that day so we dined on the patio!  After lunch we picked Jude up and had dessert at McKinley’s.

From there we went to see the Ansel Adams photography exhibit at the Amon Carter Museum.  It was really neat, and it was FREE!

I nursed Jude before David dropped me off at the salon where I enjoyed an hour long full-body massage!!!!  The irony is that I used a gift certificate that David gave me last year on my birthday!  I was holding onto it, waiting for the perfect time to use it…and what could be better than a birthday massage??  Ahhhh…it was bliss.  The hour passed too quickly, and before I knew it David, Janet, and the boys were back at the salon to pick me up for dinner at Gloria’s.

It was a wonderful day.  I felt like a queen, and I got to enjoy spending it with 4 of my favorite people!

As if I hadn’t already received enough attention throughout the week, the weekend was full of more fun!  We met up with some more of our closest friends at the new Fort Worth Patrizio and had an amazing time!  It had been way too long since we’d hung out without our kids and we all agreed that we need to do it much more often than once a year for my birthday!

I will admit that for the first time in my life I was actually a little down about getting older.  Thirty seems so old.  So final.  But, there is also something exciting about entering a new era.  Only God knows what my future holds, and I am more than ready to watch it unfold!  Here’s to my fourth decade!  May it be as amazing as the other three!

Responses

  1. I’m so glad your birthday was so well celebrated. You look amazing, Tricia! I especially like that picture of you and David at Patrizio’s. Just beautiful!

    • Thank you…that was sweet 🙂 I was so excited to be able to fit into my “skinny” jeans that night. I haven’t worn them since we lived in Dallas 5 years ago! Jude has a big appetite, and I can’t say that I mind him helping me shed the pounds! Now, if I could only eat a little healthier and exercise in addition to nursing…then I’d really trim down. I just can’t seem to get motivated!

  2. That is SO FUN!!!!! I also love the photo of you and David.

    And so far my 30’s have been my best yet and I am almost half way through and they just keep getting better!

    Oh and YEAH for skinny jeans!


Leave a Reply

Categories

