Posted by: Tricia | October 14, 2010

Under Construction – Week 1

It didn’t take long for us all to get accustomed to Jude’s new headpiece.  Before he got it I was most worried about not being able bond as easily with him.  I love to rub my face on his soft hairs and give him lots and lots of kisses on top of his head.  The hard plastic band seems so cold and I worried that it would be uncomfortable for both of us during nursing.  One hour a day without the band just didn’t seem like enough time, especially since the majority of it would be for bath time.

I also dreaded being in public and having to answer people’s questions.  People can be so ignorant and cruel when it comes to things like this.

I worried that the band would rub too much and cause Jude to be uncomfortable.

I am so relieved to say that none of these worries proved to be a big issue for us!  Jude is as adorable and kissable as ever.  I find that his soft squishy cheeks are equally as nice to love on.  And, I make sure and give him lots of kisses on his head when the band is off.  Naturally, nursing is more comfortable with a “bandless” baby, but it isn’t as big of an inconvenience as I thought it would be.  Plus, Jude’s last feeding of the day occurs during the hour when he isn’t wearing the band.  We have become so accustomed to him wearing it that a few times I have almost forgotten to take the band off for that hour!  So far we haven’t encountered any rude strangers.  I have noticed a few people staring and smiling, but I just tell myself it’s because he’s such a cute baby!  I’ve had a few people ask me what the band is for and they’ve been very kind and understanding about it.  Overall, Jude seems to be adjusted to his new band, and for the most part it doesn’t rub too much.  Occasionally when we go into his room after he’s woken up from a nap or in the morning, the band will have come down over his left eye and is rubbing on the bridge of his nose a bit.  I asked the therapist about this and she said there isn’t really anything that can be done about it.  The band is supposed to be somewhat loose and it will move around if he does.  It doesn’t seem to hurt him so we’re ok with it.

I must admit that I was a little skeptical when the therapist said that we would start to see results within 1 week of starting treatment with the DOC band. But, after looking at these comparison pictures, it is obvious that things are starting to change!  I was also surprised to see that it looks like the most dramatic difference is in the back of the head.  It’s narrower, less like the shape of a football.  Amazing!  I can’t wait to see next week’s pictures!

David whipped up this nifty color comparison of the back view of Jude’s head. The red areas are no longer there, leaving the purple and blue areas as his current head shape.

Responses

  1. Wow! I can’t believe the difference one week can make! I never would have believed you if you had just said you could see the difference. The weekly pictures and color chart are a really good idea. The color chart is too cool!

    On another note, both of your boys are absolutely adorable!!

  2. I LOVE the overlap picture! What a great way to see the progress he has made.

  3. The difference is amazing!

    Jude is such a cutie! Band or no band, he is adorable. I just want to kiss his fat little cheeks!

  4. That is really cool! Glad that you haven’t encountered people being rude.

  5. Jude is such a beautiful baby!

    Tricia – I am so glad that your biggest worries did not prove to be true. 🙂

    Davis – the color over lay rocks – Leon would have totally done the same thing:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

