Posted by: Tricia | February 2, 2011

Elliottisms

 

Lately Elliott has really enjoyed listening to music and making up his own songs.  Several times he has said to me, ” Mommy, I’m hearing music in my head.”

All of the “letter talk” around here is starting to rub off on Elliott.  The other day, while riding his tricycle along the sidewalk in the park, he asked me, “Is this an upper case hill?”

Elliott has always been a great talker.  He can hear a word once and usually repeat it correctly…even long words.  He’s also very good at hearing words spoken in one context and then using them again later in his own sentences with the correct context.  Last week I was helping him write a message for his Daddy’s birthday card and it went something like this.

I love you, Daddy.  Even when you’re at work working in your office.  I love you, Daddy.  Suspiciously when you play with me.  I love you, Daddy.

I thought it was way too cute to correct him.

On that same note, I caught Elliott playing with one of David’s birthday presents, a new air compressor.  It hadn’t made it’s way into the garage and was sitting in the dining room.  He had the hoses draped over his shoulders and was tinkering with some of the gauges.  When I asked him what he was doing he said he was “hydrating the pipes”.  When I asked him where he heard the word “hydrate”, he said that I had told him he needed to stay hydrated.  And, that he figured the pipes could use some hydrating, too.  I agreed that it sounded like a good plan….keeping the pipes hydrated and all.

There are very few meals where we don’t have to ask Elliott to eat more of (fill in the blank) before getting down from the table.  Today I noticed that he had eaten everything on his plate but his banana pieces.  Puzzled, because he’s a big fan of bananas lately, I told him he needed to eat at least 3 pieces.  He answered that they tasted funny.  I replied, “have you tried them to know if they taste funny?”  He said, “yes”, and after taking a closer look I agreed that he must have.  (He hasn’t started lying to us….yet)  When I asked how many he’d eaten he took a second to think and then, answered, “I ate as much as you might have wanted me to.”  I could not help but smile, laugh, and tell him that he was very clever for answering that way.  How could he be wrong with an answer like that?

Responses

  1. ha ha ha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

