Posted by: Tricia | February 2, 2011

Pirate Day

Elliott loves pirates…almost as much as dinosaurs, and that’s saying a lot!  So, when my sweet friend, Louanne, emailed me with this, I was more than excited to start planning a pirate day of our own!

We started the day off with a pirate collage.  I had saved the kid’s meal bag from our visit to LJS on L Day, not knowing what I would use it for.  I cut up the pirate into different pieces so that Elliott could put him back together like a paper doll.  We used cheerios for the coconuts on the tree, shredded wheat for the sandy beach, cotton balls for the clouds and blue glitter for the water.

This turned out to be so cute that we added it to our wall of fame.

For our morning snack we made ocean water with swimming (peach) goldfish!

I put this lapbook together using the template that Louanne sent me from Homeschool Creations.

Jolanthe used the book, On a Pirate Ship, for a lot of her activities.  That book was checked out at our library so I decided to use Pedro the Pirate for Elliott’s book report.

Some other books we read throughout the day were, Pirate Pete, A Year on a Pirate Ship, and Shiver Me Letters. Elliott wanted to read all of these over and over again!

We also listened to the book on CD, How I Became A Pirate.

Some of the activities in the lapbook were too easy for Elliott at 3 1/2.  He breezed through the ship sequencing so fast I barely had time to get my camera out!  I hesitated to print out the parrot colors because he is not a big fan of coloring these days.  I thought we could at least talk through the words and he could sound them out.  Nope.  He wasn’t interested in it at all.  We put all of the pirate ABC’s in a pile and he hunted for the upper and lower case letter matches.  This was a great activity because he’s still learning to differentiate a lot of the lower case letters that look alike.

These puppets turned out to be the biggest hit, though!  He got the biggest kick out of making up stories with them and performing “shows”.  He is still playing with them weeks later…well, at least the ones that Jude hasn’t chewed up 🙂

I made a memory game out of the pirate words by printing out two copies of each card.  Elliott loves memory and he is really good at it.

I love that the lapbook template included a verse to memorize.  The pictures added to replace the words really helped Elliott to remember it.

The pirate lunch included orange boats, a pirate face sandwich, cherry cannonballs, and a gummy croc with a side of goldfish and Pirate Booty.

After lunch both boys played pirates in the bath!

Arrrgh!

Then Elliott hunted in the water for the letters to spell pirate.

Sweet Jude dressed for the occasion!  He was running a high fever that day (his first) which turned out to be a case of hand, foot, and mouth, which he was more than happy to share with me.  Lovely.

After Elliott’s nap he made his very own telescope to take on his very own treasure hunt!  This was such a simple thing to make, but he loved it!  He played with it for days!

Elliott’s Nonnie planned and executed a real pirate treasure hunt for him on Christmas morning that turned out to be a big hit!  I stole the idea from her for pirate day because what pirate day would be complete without a hunt for treasure??  I hid the clues while he was napping and slid the first one inside the telescope tube for him to find while he was adding stickers to it.  Here’s a video of the hunt.  I didn’t include all of the footage or all of the places he found clues, but you’ll get the idea!

Enjoying his treasure!

Of course our pirate day would not have been complete without another trip to Long John Silver’s for dinner with Daddy!  We didn’t manage to get any pictures so I’ve included one from our last visit.

Elliott had so much fun with pirate day!  Teaching doesn’t come naturally to me so doing the research to come up with all of this stuff and organizing it in my mind takes a lot of effort.  But, it is so gratifying to watch him having fun, and learning while doing it!

Responses

  1. THIS.IS.AWESOME. Nadia loved the video. And looked longly at the pirate ship.

  2. oh and I think Elliott would love our Wordless Wed. for this week

  3. I love your theme days! You always go all out. They look like so much fun!!

  4. Tricia, You are awesome! Can you come homeschool my kids? 🙂

  5. […] loves firemen!  They are up there at the top of his list, along with pirates and dinosaurs.  So when I saw this lapbook on Jolanthe’s blog, I just knew I needed to start […]

  6. You are a rockin’ momma!!! Love the Wall of Fame idea and SO need to do that at our house!! The lunches you are making are too much fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

