Posted by: Tricia | March 16, 2011

T – 2 months

Oh my word!  Where did the time go?  Jude will be 1 year old in a matter of weeks, and I just can’t believe it!

At 10 months Jude is such a joy!  He wakes up happy and very talkative.  But, only time will tell if he can out talk his brother!  We are certain that his first word was “Hi”, paired with a sweet little wave.  Needless to say, we are giving him a lot of “Hi’s” these days so that he can practice his new trick.  He babbles lots of “dadas”, “babas”, and “yayas”, but no “mamas” yet.

 

Jude really seems to love music more than I remember Elliott liking it at this age.  Whenever he hears music or when we sing to him he gets so excited and starts flapping his arms around.  He also loves beating on objects with other objects like he’s playing the drums.

His hair is still red, red, red!  And, we absolutely adore it.  I never would have guessed just how much attention it gets when we’re out and about.  I hope he likes the attention because it doesn’t look like it’s going to change any time soon!

He still hasn’t started to crawl but he manages to move around the room quite well.  He can spin ’round and ’round while sitting.  Somehow, by lunging onto all fours and then going back to a sitting position over and over again he can get where he wants to be.  I’ve started keeping him out of his walker as much as possible so that he can have more time to practice.  He is soooo close!  We cheer for him a lot and are looking forward to seeing him scooting around the house soon.  But, for now we will enjoy this semi-sedentary state because we know he’ll never be the same once he’s mobile!

He absolutely loves to pull up and stand holding on to anything he can.  One of his favorite places to hang out in the afternoon while Elliott is still sleeping is the dining room window.  You can tell that he is really proud of himself for standing there all by himself.  He chuckles and talks to the cars going by.  Good times.

Jude loves to eat!  His favorite meal is breakfast.  I think he eats more than anyone else at this meal!  If he sees anyone eating something he wants some, too!  He knows the sound of a food wrapper!  Today I was opening up a cereal bar for Elliott, and Jude turned his head, lightning speed, toward me to see what it was.  His legs started kicking and he starting whining for some, too.

He is a mama’s boy!  I don’t remember Elliott being as attached to me as Jude is, and I am certain it is because he is at home with me full-time and not in child care at all.  Whenever he sees me he wants me, and he makes it known.  When someone else is holding him he reaches out for me.  So sweet.  Every time David has to put him to bed if I’ve gone out for the evening he cries for a long time.  I’m not going to lie and say that I dislike this.  It’s a pleasure to be wanted!

I may be his favorite person to hold onto, but Elliott can make him laugh like no one else.  Here’s a quick video of the the two of them.  Elliott was hiding under the table so that Jude wouldn’t roll over his books and Jude was pretty sure that Elliott was just playing a game with him.

 

They are starting to play together more and more.  It’s really sweet to watch.  I know that the older Jude gets the more they will play, and the more they will fight!

I know it sounds so cliche’, but we truly cannot imagine our family without this sweet boy.  What a joy it is to know him and be his mama!  Slow down, baby boy, you are growing up too fast! 

Responses

  1. I love his red hair. And I can’t believe he is also almost 1. Cute!!!

  2. Aw, I know this was a few weeks ago but I hope you have gotten a “mama” now… Caroline is stuck on “dada” and while it is super cute I have to say I am ready for a “mama”… I am the one with her all day, ha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

