Posted by: Tricia | April 14, 2011

Fireman Day

Elliott loves firemen!  They are up there at the top of his list, along with pirates and dinosaurs.  So when I saw this lapbook on Jolanthe’s blog, I just knew I needed to start working on a Fireman Day for him.

When I told Elliott that it was a special day and that we were going to have a fireman day he said, “That’s just what I wanted to do!”

We started the day off by watching a quick video about what firefighters do.

Then he worked on putting together the fire truck puzzle on the front of his lapbook.

We worked on spelling out fireman words with scrabble tiles.

We also talked about when and how to call 9-1-1.  This is not as easy as it used to be now that all we have are our i-phones and no land line! He memorized our address, and practiced writing it.

He worked on patterns using the fireman sequencing cards.

He loved counting the dalmatian’s spots and assigning the correct number card to it.

We also talked a lot about fire safety.  I found this little song online (sung to the tune of Frere Jacques) and thought it seemed a bit cheesy, but Elliott loved it!

Never, never play with matches.

If you do, if you do,

You might burn your fingers.  You might burn your fingers.

That won’t do!  That won’t do!

We both memorized this little poem and I taught him how to stop, drop, and roll.

If you don’t want to choke,

Crawl under the smoke.

Get down on the floor,

And head for the door!

We tied a bed sheet to two chairs and stretched it across so that we could pretend it was smoke to crawl under.  I have the cutest video of Elliott demonstrating his stop, drop, and roll moves, but our video camera is wigging out and won’t let me import the videos!!!  Ugh!  I am so frustrated with it right now, but mostly just sad that I can’t get my videos off of it 😦

Elliott loves to perform and watch puppet shows.  So, when I came across these online I knew they would be a big hit!

I helped him color some of the characters.  He cut out a few of them, but asked if I would neaten them up.  Then, we put on a show for daddy.  It went something like this: The policeman said it was okay for the architect to build a house for the scientist.  Then, the scientist did experiments in his new house that resulted in a big explosion and fire with lots of smoke.  He stopped, dropped, and rolled and called 9-1-1.  The fireman came to rescue him and put out the fire.  Once he made sure that the scientist was okay, he sent the nurse in to check him out.

The little fireman’s fire truck & fire dog lunch!  (I found the idea for the truck here)

During lunch we talked about how strong and brave firemen are.  And, about how they rescue people.  Then, we talked about how God is the strongest and bravest One of all, and that, because he died for us, he rescued us from our sin.  We memorized Psalm 118:14 and talked about what it means for God to be our strength, our song, and our salvation.

The Lord is my strength and my song; He has become my salvation. Psalm 118:14

After lunch we made a fireman picture.  I found the idea here.

(Notice the fireman’s green coiled hose, and the flames in the sky.  So cute!)

Then, Elliott practiced getting dressed in his firemen clothes super fast…just like a real fireman!

All dressed (complete with a “hose”, and ready to fight fires…pretend ones, anyway!

This adorable little fire engine has definitely been a big deal around here!  It belongs to my mom who was kind enough to loan it to us for fireman day.  We’ve had it for several weeks, and it has been well loved.  It also made for some really cute pictures!

For Elliott’s last fireman day activity I drew a road for him on the drive way with sidewalk chalk so that he could act out his own fireman rescue.  He pedaled as fast as he could to the tree house where the “fire” was and used the water hose to put it out.  So. Much. Fun.  I would love to share the video…perhaps when our camera starts cooperating again.

Whew!  What a day!  I am worn out, but it sure is worth it to see this precious smile on his face!

Responses

  1. I LOVE THIS!!!! What a wonderful fireman day. The puppet show is fantastic as is the painting. I hope you can get the videos off.

  2. Oh, Tricia, that is awesome! Your kids are so stinkin’ lucky to have you as a mommy…you rock. What a fun day and great memories for Elliott. Hope to see the videos soon!

  3. LOVE IT!!!! Linking up to the main Fireman page too. Thanks for sharing!! That song is great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

