Posted by: Tricia | October 9, 2011

Speaking Up

Anybody who knows Elliott knows that he has been a talker from the start. He said his first word at 10 months and the floodgates opened. At 15 months I counted that he knew 33 words, plus he could recite the answer to the first catechism and 5 animal sounds when asked, “What does a _____ say?”.  At 18 months he doubled the number with 66 words and was speaking in sentences.  He’s always had a knack for words and his ability to pick up on the meanings of new words and use them correctly in a sentence is still astounding.  I’ve tried to be very careful about comparing the boys on the blog from the beginning, but sometimes the differences are hard not to note.  It may seem odd to some, but I actually prayed that Jude would not be the avid talker that Elliott is.  Simply because I don’t think my brain could handle any more stimulation!!

God most definitely has answered my prayers…so far.  I can’t say enough how amazing this part of parenting is.  Being a spectator to another little person’s development.  Watching his personality unfold before our very eyes.  Day by day, week by week, seeing the changes taking place and being in awe of the miracle of life.

It goes without saying that Jude is not the talker that Elliott was at this age.  He has invested most of his time and energy on learning to climb….at all moments of the day.  It is his passion and he succeeds most of the time.  My heart nearly stopped when I found him standing on the kitchen table a few weeks ago.  What’s next, the kitchen counter?  Jude has kept his word bank at about 5 words, with “uh-oh” being his favorite, for the last 3 months.  And, I was preparing myself for him to start really talking at around the age of 2.  Much later than Elliott, but still normal.  However, it seems that our little man of few words is starting to speak up a bit earlier than that!  At 17 months Jude regularly says:

mama

dada

puppy

yeah

hi

hewo (hello)

baby

bee bee (belly button)

me (please)

uh-oh

ee (eat)

nigh-nigh (night-night)

woo-woo (Woof!  Said when he sees any kind of animal)

And, this week he added two more, bubbies (bubbles), and Na-nay (Nonnie)!

Here he is saying “Nonnie” for the first time.  She comes over fairly often and always parks in front and walks up the sidewalk.  So, naturally, Jude is looking for her out the window.

David is constantly telling me that he heard Jude say this or that.  Perhaps I’m not being an attentive enough mother, but I just don’t hear it.  I don’t know if it’s because I’m too busy listening to Elliott, or if I’m just hearing babbles.  He does a lot of pointing and grunting.  Perhaps sometimes he might actually be using a word that sounds more like a grunt to me.

I’ve heard him say “mi (milk)” once when we were looking for milk at the grocery store.  David claims to have also heard Jude say “ow (out)” when getting out of his car seat.  And, while playing with bubbles the other day he said “bubbies, dada, me (bubbles dada please)”.

Who knows?  We may have another talker on our hands.  Either way, we are head over heels in love with this little person!

Responses

  1. That is so fun!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

