Posted by: Tricia | November 2, 2011

Halloween 2011

Halloween 2011 – The knight and his dragon

I scheduled myself to work on Halloween, and probably due to the fear of the boys missing out on trick-or-treating, I panicked and planned lots of other Halloween activities for us to do….and in the end we all went trick-or-treating, too!  Needless to say, we have had our fair share of all things Halloween this year, and we loved every bit of it!

To kick things off Elliott and I painted the cute little pumpkins that he picked out at the pumpkin patch.  I had never done this and I have to say that it was a lot of fun!  I was skeptical about the paint actually sticking to the pumpkin, but they turned out really cute!

Elliott loved it so much that he asked if we could paint faces on both sides of our pumpkins.

The next day we headed to the zoo for Boo at the Zoo.  Both years that we’ve gone I’ve been a little bit underwhelmed by what they have to offer, but the boys enjoyed it.  At least this year Jude’s admission ticket was worth something!  (I am still in shock that they charge for every person who walks in the gates!)

Jude is our music lover.  Whenever he hears music, he must stop to clap and dance.  Love him.

He had his fair share of suckers while we were there.  And, it is settled.  He has definitely got a sweet tooth like his momma.

Both boys really enjoyed the games.  Different from last year, Elliott was more interested in playing than in receiving candy.

Jude knew exactly what to do to get his prize!

We decorated baby pumpkins.  Am I the only one that is terrified of kids with sharpies?  It gives me the heebie jeebies.

And, as if we weren’t already high enough on sugar, per Elliott’s request, I bought a snow cone for us all to share.

Because I love this picture…

…and this one.

We had such a fun time!  I am so very thankful for days like this, spent just with me and my boys.

The weekend before Halloween David and I took the boys down the street to a couple of churches who held their own trunk-or-treat festivals.  We didn’t get a lot of photos, but a good time was had by all.  Jude of course, consumed more than his share of suckers that evening and Elliott bounced himself silly in almost everyone of the umpteen bounce houses on the premises.   The highlight of night for our family was the hay ride at the end.

Elliott had been asking to make a jack-o-lantern and we finally got our act together enough to go out and buy the pumpkin the day before Halloween.  I wasn’t sure how long Elliott would stay interested since there wasn’t a lot he could help with, but he was actually able to do most of the carving with David’s help.

Here’s what we ended up with!

Jude wasn’t awake to see the finished product but “oohed” and “ahhed” over it later on.

Two little pumpkin heads!

And, finally we made it to Halloween!  My mom was sweet enough to watch the boys while I worked and got them ready for the big night of trick-or-treating.

Hooray!  Candy, candy, candy!

Everything worked out perfectly for me to meet up with them after work.  By the time I got there they had buckets full of candy!  And, sticky, sticky faces!  I’d call it a very successful Halloween!

Responses

  1. all so fun!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

