Posted by: Tricia | March 18, 2012

Stage Fright

For weeks and weeks Elliott practiced at school with his class for his first ever concert. He even practiced at home. He was super excited for the big day.

See?

But once he got on stage things changed.  (Elliott is the second kid from the right on the front row in the video.)  We spent the entire three songs painstakingly watching as he frowned, pouted, crossed his arms, and refused to participate in singing the songs that he was so excited to share with us.  I couldn’t figure out if something happened just before going on stage that made him embarrassed.  Or perhaps he was mad about something and rebelling by not participating.  Whatever the reason I was very sad for him that he chose to act the way that he did because I knew that he was looking forward to it so much.

Here are some close ups of our little star 😉

I keep telling myself that one day this will be funny!


When we got to his room to pick him up afterward he ran to me and burst into tears. Through his sobbing he told me that he was just so scared and that he never wanted to be in a program again.  Poor baby.  Apparently frowning, pouting, and looking down right angry translates to stage fright.

My oh my…and this is only the beginning I am afraid.

Responses

  1. I am crying from laughing so hard. Yes, this will be funny to you someday. However, if this was one of my boys, I would need some time to find the humor as well! 😉

  2. […] Christmas pre-k program was so traumatic for him that I was a little nervous about how it would go this time.  Over the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

