Posted by: Tricia | March 27, 2012

A surprise of sorts

One of the perks for a pregnant woman working in a hospital, more specifically the NICU, is that ultrasound techs frequent the area.  I am not alone when I say that for a pregnant woman, a sonogram machine is like gold!  We can see one coming a mile away and it is all we can do to contain ourselves from taking the wand in our hand to get even the tiniest glimpse of the precious being inside.

Needless to say, you can only imagine where my mind went when at work one day the doctor ordered an ultrasound on one of my patients.  My friends were just as eager as I was to ask for a sneak peek and one of them blurted out the request before the tech could even make it to my patient’s bedside.  She was happy to oblige, and I was beyond excited.  But, what was I going to do?  I couldn’t, and wouldn’t find out the gender of our baby without David.  After giving him a call we both decided that I would do the sonogram, take a peek at the baby, but avert my eyes when the nether regions were exposed.  Our plan was to have the sonographer write the coveted information down on a piece of paper to be folded up and kept secret until David and I could share the moment of finding out the gender together.

After my shift I headed downstairs for a glimpse of our little one only to find out that the tech’s car had broken down and she had to leave immediately to meet her ride.  NOoooo!  Talk about disappointment.  We were 3 weeks away from a scheduled sonogram, but at 19 weeks, could most definitely find out the gender if we could only get a look!  Holding back tears, I headed back upstairs to get my things and texted David the bad news.  Enter eager co-workers again…they were not going to take “no” for an answer!  One of the sweet girls I work with took it upon herself to call downstairs to get another tech to do the favor.  So, once again I headed downstairs for our “unofficial” sneak-peek sonogram!

Seeing our baby actually look like a baby for the first time was an amazing sight.  It always is.  At that moment I felt so much love for this precious baby that it didn’t matter to me whether it was a boy or a girl.  Hearing the sonographer talk about “what a beautiful” baby I have and hearing that everything looks perfect was such a relief.  We watched and listened to the heart beat for a minute or so, watched baby wiggle around, and then it was time for the tech to take a peek at what we were there for!  He turned the screen away and it didn’t take him long to decipher whether it was a boy or a girl.  When asked how sure he was he responded, “100%!” My first thought was, “well then it must be a boy”, but the sono tech assured me that the baby had opened it’s legs wide for a good look.  He wrote it down, folded up the paper into a tight little square, and I left feeling very nervous and excited to have such big news in the palm of my hand!  In a short while we would know whether we were going to have a boy or a girl!

I got home and David and I decided that we would wait until we put the boys to bed to open the paper.  We could hardly contain our excitement!  Once the boys were in bed we sat knee to knee on our bed and opened the paper.  Oh. My. Goodness.  Could it really be?  Another BOY!!!!!!

Yep.  “All boy” to be exact.

Some people like to keep their baby’s gender an unknown until delivery.  And, while waiting that long to be surprised sounds very exciting,  it just isn’t for us.  I’d like to think of this as our little surprise of sorts.  It was fun to be “in waiting”…if only for a few hours.  And, we could not be happier with the ending!  Another BOY it is!

Oh, and let it be known that, for the record, David’s guess was GIRL, and mine was BOY 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

