Posted by: Tricia | April 25, 2013

King of the Throne

pottySeptember 2012

It seems that with the first child every “first”, every milestone, every time he did something cute, every time he took a breath we were documenting it and posting it on this little blog of ours!  Unfortunately, with more than one child life is too busy and too sweet to stop to write everything down.  Is it possible that there is a blogging mother in the world somewhere who has managed to give all of her children equal blog space shout outs??  Probably.  But, I’m not her!

 There are so many things that I wish I would have had the time to blog about and probably won’t ever have the time.  However, there is one thing that keeps coming to mind that I must not forget to document.  And, that is that

Jude potty-trained himself!!!

You heard me right.  Our beloved second son took it upon himself to learn how to use the potty.  When Benjamin was a mere 1 month old, and Jude was just past 2 years old he started asking to use the potty.  I went along with it the first few times but when I realized that he was serious I actually tried to get him to stop!  I had a newborn and did not want to spend time trying to potty train a 2 year old boy at the same time!  Late night bed wettings and abrupt “I have to go potty” scenes at the grocery store were not something that I was looking forward to adding to my plate.  We waited until Elliott was nearly three to start potty-training.  It went so smoothly so I had planned on doing the same with Jude.  He, however, was persistent and so I gave in and got on board with his program.  Because we started at his prompting I wasn’t even prepared with a sticker chart or candy!  He did it all for quite some time without any rewards.  About 2 weeks into it he got tired of being asked to go potty and started to resist.  “Oh, no you don’t”, I told him.  “You started this and you’re going to finish it!”.  And, finish it he did.  He definitely had more accidents than Elliott did at 3 years, but we were so impressed with how well he did overall.

He continued to wear pull-ups for naps and diapers during the night until very recently.  He hasn’t even celebrated his third birthday and this boy is completely potty-trained!

 Jude is the King of the Throne!!

This mama could not be more proud!  Jude, you are a delight.  You are stubborn, and persistent, and you don’t give up.  You are going to do amazing things in your life if you keep this up, kiddo!  We love you so very much!

Responses

  1. Wow, go Jude! He is too cute. i was going to wait until 3 to train ours too, but they were showing way too much interest. They are definitely still in diapers for naps and bedtime though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

